Support Center

Name is required.
Email address is required.
Invalid email address
Answer is required.
Exceeding max length of 5KB

Moving sections into section groups

Paul Marrington Jun 04, 2017 03:37PM PDT

I wanted to do a reorganisation yesterday so I created groups and attempted to move sections into them. Both drag-and-drop and context menu worked, but next time it synchronised with the server I ended up with the original sections plus the ones in the group. I then had to go through and manually delete the external sections and hope I wasn't losing anything.

I was using the Mac App Store version purchased on Saturday with iCloud storage.

The Question? Is this a known bug?

Up 0 rated Down
AlenaZ Jun 04, 2017 10:44PM PDT OUTLINE Helping Hand
Hi Paul,

We apologise for this situation!

And yes, we know about iCloud doing this.
That's actually the only storage that has this problem.

iCloud is extremely slow with syncing the edits to the main cloud copy of the file.
Therefore such situations are pretty often with moving / deleting sections.
Please don't worry, nothing can be erased but I usually suggest to reorder / delete the section directly in iCloud folder in Finder.

Here is how you can do it:
- Close the notebook in Outline: right-click on the notebook > Move to Trash (you will delete the local copy of the file, but the main copy will stay safe in the cloud);
- Go to your iCloud Drive > Outline folder in Finder > move / delete the section files (.one or .outdoc files);
- Reopen the notebook in Outline with "+" at the top of notebooks pane > open from iCloud.

And please write to me if there are any difficulties.
I will help!

Post Your Public Answer

Your name (required)
Your email address (required)
Answer (required)
support@outline.ws
http://assets0.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete